President’s Medal

Originally an award given to members who excelled in the field of oratory the President’s Medal fell out of use in the 1950s and was resurrected in recent years as an accolade that recognises the achievements of those outside the society.

Today the President’s Medal is an honorific award given in the name of the society’s members, alumni and president, Dr James Browne (University President). It is awarded to recognise the society’s esteem for individuals who have contributed to public life and discourse.

If you are aware of any names missing from this list an email to would be much appreciated.

What follows is a list of recipients. Those names with a (*) beside them were awarded HLMs as an external honour in the years when the medal was out of use.

Professor Edmund Phelps
Mr Brian Friel
Mr Colm Toibín
Mr George Lee
Ms Garry Hynes
Archbishop Desmond Tutu
An Taoiseach Bertie Ahern
Sir Bob Geldof
Mr Seamus Heaney*

Mr Fintan O’Toole
Professor Tariq Ramadan
Congressman Bruce Morrison
Mr Philip Pullman
Senator Mike Gravel
Professor Noam Chomsky
Professor Paul Collier
Mr Max Brooks
President Nelson R. Mandela*

An Uachtaráin Mary Robinson
Mr Roddy Doyle
Ms Nancy Cartright
Mr Patrick McCabe
Mr Tom Murphy
Mr Martin Sheen
Senator David Norris
An Uachtaráin Mary McAleese

Back to Top