Current Committee

The Lit & Deb is administered by a committee, elected by members at its most recent AGM.

The chief officer of the society is the auditor, who chairs the society’s meetings and has general responsibility for its affairs. The society’s constitution establishes several other offices. The Vice-Auditor and Treasurer make up the remainder of the executive and two secretaries (Recording Secretary & Debates Secretary) along with four convenors (Internal, External, Schools’ & Literary), the Public Relations Officer and the House Clerk constitute the remainder of the elected committee. The Auditor may then appoint members to the committee at his/her discretion.

The Auditor of the 170th session has appointed a Social Secretary, an Alumni Mentor and two Ordinary Committee Members.

Our Auditor

170 – Chris Kirwan (3rd Law)

Ultimately, the Auditor takes overall responsibility for the success of a Session. It is the Auditor’s role to chair meetings, manage the Committee, oversee all of the Society’s work and act as the Society’s public face.


Our Vice Auditor

170 – Kate Muldowney (2nd Human Rights)

The Vice-Auditor’s role is to assist the Auditor in overseeing the Society and facilitating the Committee’s work.

Our Treasurer

170 – Alex Burke (2nd Law)

The Treasurer is in charge of Society funds and is responsible for the budgeting of funds to cover the Session’s work. 

Our Debates Secretary

170 – Neringa Jurenaite (2nd Science)

The Debates Secretary is responsible for the success of the Society’s Main Business events; inviting guests and organizing the particulars of the event.

Our Recording Secretary (Rec Sec)

170– Jack Malone (3rd Arts)

The Recording Secretary records each Main Business event, regales the assembled masses with tales of times just past and enters our faults and failings into the annals of history.


Our External Convenor

170 – Thomas Creamer (2nd Law)

The External Convenor organises the Society’s involvement in Inter-varsity competitions; registering teams and sifting through accommodation and travel bookings.

Our Internal Convenor

169 – Frank O’Neill (Med)

The Internal Convenor is the moulder of minds and the hardener of hearts; running the Society Workshops during the academic year and coaching members in the art of oratory.

Our Schools’ Convenor

170 – Eoghan ‘John’ Finn (2nd Human Rights)

The Schools’ Convenor runs the Western Schools’ workshops and competition and engages with schools all over the West of Ireland to encourage and support debate and public speaking.

 Our Literary Convenor

170 – Niamh O’Brien (2nd Arts)

The Literary Convenor is responsible for editing and publishing the society’s magazine, the College Annual, as well as organising literary events throughout the year.

Our Public Relations Officer (PRO)

170 – Darra Deane (2nd Law)

The Public Relations Officer is tasked with coordinating the societies publicity campaign.  


Our House Clerk

170 – Chris Collins (3rd BIS)

The House Clerk’s role is to maintain order during Society meetings; booking and setting up venues, timing speeches and expelling those unwilling to respect House rules.




Our Deputy Schools’ Convenor

170 – Daniel Leahy (1st Law)

The Deputy Schools’ Convenor’s role is to  assist the Schools’ Convenor in the organisation and implementation of school competitions and to fulfill the duties of Schools’ Convenor in the absence of the actual officer




Our Ordinary Committee Member

170 – Mark Graydon (1st Arts)

The OCM’s role is to assist the committee in anyway and to assume any role determined by the committee.



Our Social Secretary

170 – Evelyn Burke (1st Arts)

The Social Secretary’s role is to organise all of the Society’s social functions from the traditional Christmas Party to post-debate celebrations in Murty Rabbitts. The Social Secretary also works closely with the Public Relations Officer to further promote the society.


Back to Top