Honorary Life Members

Honorary Life Membership of this society is a curious thing. One understanding is that it is the awarding of a select few distinguished members with the right to speak in the chamber for the rest of their lives. Some suggest that it is a recognition of service rendered to the society.

The Literary and Debating Society struggles with naming HLMs because they are so highly valued as a way to recognise excellence. Those who have received them have been named as noteworthy in the Society’s proud tradition and its members have made clear their pride in having shared the society with these noteworthy persons.

Honorary Life Members


The Literary & Debating Society

  • Ms Caroline O’Shea
  • Mr Michael Flattery
  • Mr Shane Commins
  • Ms Gráinne Nielson
  • Mr David Molloy
  • Mr Brian Farragher
  • Mr Eanna McGovern
  • Ms Ruth Cormican
  • Ms Edel McNamara
  • Ms Sarah Kennedy
  • Ms Maria Keenan
  • Mr Alan Lyons
  • Mr Andrew Hannon
  • Mr Paul Mac Eoin
  • Mr Michael Spring
  • Mr Conor Kelly
  • Mr Conor Keane
  • Mr Nollaig Ó Scannláin
  • Mr David Finn
  • Mr Ronan Fitzpatrick
  • Mr Beartla De Búrca
  • Mr Vincent Lacy
  • Mr James Hope
  • Dr Sean Butler
  • Ms Aisling O’Connell
  • Dr Jackie Driscoll
  • Mr Sean Kearns
  • Ms Fanchea Daly
  • Ms Eileen Coughlan
  • Mr Timothy Morrow
  • Mr Daniel Colley
  • Mr Patrick Cluskey
  • Ms Donna Commins
  • Mr Stephen Nolan
  • Mr Kevin Leavy
  • Mr Martin Collins
  • Mr Mark Hanniffy
  • Ms Elaine Dobbyn
  • Mr John Moriarty
  • Ms Catríona Callanan
  • Ms Orlaith O’Connor
  • Ms Sinead Barry
  • Mr Barry Ryan
  • Mr Enda Dolan
  • Ms Diane Halley
  • Ms Jennifer Regan
  • Mr Oliver Begley-Wall
  • Mr Robert Cox
  • Mr Keith Maye
  • Mr Conor Nelson
  • Mr Mohamed Al-Karim
  • Ms Cliona O’Keefe
  • Ms Louise Rouse
  • Mr Ronan Feehily
  • Ms Maria Dillon
  • Mr Fergal Crehan (auditor 1997-98)
  • Mr Jarlath Ryan (auditor 1995-1996)
  • Mr John Sweeney (auditor 1994-1995)
  • Mr Ronan McSweeney (auditor 1993-1994)
  • Ms Mary Cosgrove (treasurer 1994-95 and 1995-96, winner Observer Mace 1995-96)
  • Mr Aidan Boyce (for outstanding contribution to the society during the world record breaking debate in 1995)


It would be such banter if additions to this list could be sent to info@literaryanddebating.com.

Back to Top